The British Council is delighted to announce the winners of funding for the inaugural Innovation for African Universities programme (IAU) 2021.

Over 50 applications were assessed through a rigorous process of multistage evaluation, and 24 projects were selected to be a part of the programme.  Our warmest congratulations to the partners that have been successful in getting the grant.

Many of the projects represent a new generation of young inspiring student-led projects, addressing local and global challenges. They reflect extensive understanding of community needs and problems.  The support and interest in the IAU programme have been remarkable and we thank everyone who participated.

The Centre of Excellence (CoE) team, comprised of City, University London, University of Nairobi and ChangeSchool, will contact the successful projects in the coming days to kick off an exciting year of activity and achievement.

Find out more about the programme by visiting the programme page

Selected participants

SSA partner

UK partner

Ecosystem player


Accra Technical University University of Huddersfield Achievers Ghana Education Ghana
Regional Maritime University University of Durham Wazuri Enterprise Ghana 
University of Health and Allied Sciences  University of St Andrews  University of Cape Coast  Ghana 
University of Ghana  Imperial College London  Impact Hub Accra  Ghana 
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technologoy (JOOUST) University of Sussex  Kenya Climate Innovation Center  Kenya 
KCA University University of Nottingham Business School  The Youth Enterprise Development Fund  Kenya 
Strathmore University (SU) University of Brighton (UOB)  Sustainable Travel and Tourism (STTA)  Kenya 
Riara University The Open University  Ashoka East Africa  Kenya 
Kenyatta University Northumbria University  Entrepreneurship Educators Foundation for Eastern Africa  Kenya 
George Okoye University London School of Economics  Sparks Concepts Management Limited  Nigeria 
University of Medical Sciences, Ondo Liverpool John Moores University  TEENPRENEURS EDUCATIONAL Foundation  Nigeria 
University of Benin Lancaster University  Africa Technology Policy Studies Network (ATPS)  Nigeria 
Lagos Business School Henley Business School, University of Reading  Semicolon Village Limited  Nigeria 
Pan African University Life and Earth Sciences Institute with Health and Agriculture (PAULESI) De Montfort University  Co-Creation Ltd (CcHUB)  Nigeria 
Coal City University  University of Lincoln  ADIRM  Nigeria 
Durban University of Technology  Sheffield Hallam University    South Africa 
University of Johannesburg  University of Warwick  Gauteng City Region Academy (GCRA)  South Africa 
University of the Witwatersrand  The University of Edinburgh  Tshimologong Digital Innovation Precint  South Africa 
Stellenbosch University  Coventry University  LaunchLab  South Africa 
Central University of Technology  Aston University  Disabled People South Africa  South Africa 
Cape Peninsula University of Technologoy (CPUT)  Manchester Metropolitan University  Snake Nation  South Africa 
Mangosuthu University of Technology  London South Bank University (LSBU)  KwaZulu-Natal Master Builders and Allied Industries Association  South Africa 
University of KwaZulu-Natal  Swansea University  Council for Scientific & Industrial Research  South Africa 
University of the Free State  Glasgow Caledonian University  Challenges Ghana  South Africa